scroll down to content

Service in the City

The Service in the City community initiative was launched in 2005 at the Berlin Governing Mayor’s Tourism Round Table. Since then, the initiative has brought together representatives of Berlin’s economy, the Berlin Senate and the city’s tourism sector to make Germany’s capital city even more attractive for visitors and locals in terms of cleanliness, an open, cosmopolitan outlook, safety, noise abatement and service. Naturally, all these various thematic areas with their related measures are also part of sustainability and enjoying the city.

Service in the City acts as a strong network initiative with selected, long-term projects relevant for the tourist sector. In this spirit, Service in the City has also developed projects encouraging civic involvement among local residents – from community clean-ups in local neighbourhoods to the team of Berlin volunteers guiding visitors during the celebrations marking the fall of the Berlin Wall.

The choice of projects follows clearly defined criteria to ensure a unified appearance and a results-oriented approach. The criteria are summarised in our ‘golden rules’ (in German), available as a download at the bottom of the page.

Where you can find us

Since September 2013, visitBerlin has been the initiative’s central project coordinator. The objectives here include establishing tourism partnerships and – together with the HIER IN BERLIN project – also increasingly address Berlin’s residents as a distinct target group. The initiative’s main office is integrated into visitBerlin’s Cultural Affairs & Tourism Partnerships unit.

Partners

  • Senate Department for Economic Affairs, Energy and Public Enterprises
  • Berlin Partner for Business and Technology
  • DEHOGA Berlin
  • Berlin Chamber of Commerce (IHK)
  • Handelsverband Berlin-Brandenburg e. V.
  • Berliner Stadtreinigungsbetriebe (BSR)
  • Berlin Brandenburg Airports (FBB
  • BVG (Berlin public transport services)
  • Berlin Tourismus & Kongress GmbH
  • Service in the City is also supported by many Berlin companies, associations and interest groups actively committed to Berlin as an attractive metropolis.

Service in the City projects

In selecting and realising a wide range of projects, the Service in the City community initiative also takes Berlin residents themselves into account as a target group.

An overview of our projects

Our Projects

  • #AugenAufBerlin

    Open your eyes - Get involved - Make a change! Working together for an even cleaner city!
    #AugenAufBerlin, a Service in the City initiative, sets out to encourage grass-roots activities focused on taking up individual responsibility to enhance the cityscape, and heighten environmental awareness.
    Find out more here.

  • fr;)endly. Simply helping in Berlin.

    The new fr;)endly app – helping when out and about in Berlin

    Sometimes the solutions can be so simple – and with the fr;)endly. Simply helping in Berlin app, Berliners and visitors out and about can help each other in everyday situations quickly and easily. This free mobile app facilities contact between Berliners and visitors enabling them to help each other in everyday situations – for example, with a puncture on a bike or when the car’s battery has gone flat. Simply post a request on the fr;)endly app, and you’ll reach other users in the vicinity ready and willing to help. This core function is supplemented by various other service tools (e.g. event tips, the visitBerlin Service Center helpline, BVG journey planner for local transport).

    The idea for the fr;)endly Berlin app came from the Service in the City community initiative and a Berlin start-up. The app itself was designed by an app developer in Hamburg.

  • The Service in the City language portal

    Learn to get by in seven languages, and brush up the language skills you already have. Practice with phrases and vocabulary lists in English, French, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Polish and Chinese specifically designed for the retail trade, gastronomy, tourism and transport.

    In each of the languages, you can find the standard expressions for greeting customers, giving advice, payment and saying goodbye, complete with a pronunciation aid. In addition, six basic terms in each of the languages can also be viewed in sign language.

    The Service in the City language website is available free of charge via das-sprachportal.de, and is supported by motus GmbH and CrossOverPoint Media GmbH, the Flughafen Berlin-Brandenburg GmbH, the Arbeitsgemeinschaft City West and Partnerhotels e.V.

Completed projects (selection)

  • Clean and Green Berlin

    Local volunteers for a cleaner Berlin
    Locals and visitors all love Berlin’s green spaces! In 2014, the Service in the City initiative, together with visitBerlin, called for regular community clean up days to promote a cleaner Berlin.
    More details here.

  • Berlin volunteers for the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Wall

    Volunteers out and about

    The celebrations for the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall attracted over one million visitors, and involved a 12km light installation along the former border and 8,000 balloons floating upwards. Yet the figures alone can hardly convey the mood in the festivities during the weekend around 9 November 2014. The entire city turned out for the event, marvelling at the ‘border of light’ – and they were joined by visitors from around the world. We have collected the outstanding moments of the celebrations at The 11 Best Moments.

    The Berlin Volunteers
    Over that weekend, the Berlin volunteers made a very special contribution to the festivities. They were a huge support throughout the entire celebrations, out and about along the ‘border of light’ between Brandenburg Gate and Potsdamer Platz, and along the East Side Gallery. With maps, brochures, the weekend programme and gummi bears at the ready, they tirelessly helped tourists with directions and answered their questions. Moreover, the around 40 volunteers shared one important feature – they all had their own personal stories of the Wall to tell, and readily shared them with interested visitors and locals. Read a selection of Wall Stories here: Personal Stories of the Berlin Wall

    Roll camera! The Berlin volunteers video
    During the celebrations for the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Wall, a film crew accompanied the Berlin volunteers at their work. Berlin Volunteers Video

1507190483

scroll down to content

Service in the City

Die Gemeinschaftsinitiative „Service in the City“ wurde im Jahr 2005 am Runden Tisch Tourismus des Regierenden Bürgermeisters gegründet. Seither bündelt die Initiative Vertreter der Berliner Wirtschaft, des Berliner Senats und der Berliner Tourismusbranche mit dem Ziel, die Hauptstadt für Touristen und Berliner in puncto Sauberkeit, Weltoffenheit, Sicherheit, Lärm und Service noch attraktiver zu machen. Hierbei zahlen alle Themen mit ihren entsprechenden Maßnahmen selbstverständlich auch auf die Aspekte der Nachhaltigkeit und des Wohlfühlens ein.

Service in the City agiert  als netzwerkstarke Initiative mit ausgewählten und langfristig angelegten Projekten mit Tourismusrelevanz. So entwickelte die Initiative auch bürgerschaftlich orientierte Angebote für BerlinerInnen – sei es die gemeinsame Putzaktion im Kiez oder Gästeführungen als "Berlin-Volunteers" im Rahmen des Mauerfalljubiläums.

Die Auswahl der Projekte erfolgt grundsätzlich nach definierten Kriterien, um ein einheitliches Auftreten und eine zielführende Arbeitsweise zu gewährleisten. Unsere „Goldenen Regeln“ fassen diese zusammen (siehe Download am Ende dieser Seite).

Wo Sie uns finden

Seit September 2013 ist visitBerlin zentraler Projektkoordinator der Initiative. Unter anderem mit dem Ziel, Binnenmarketing zu betreiben und verstärkt – zusammen mit dem Projekt „HIER IN BERLIN“ – auch BerlinerInnen als Zielgruppe zu berücksichtigen. Die Geschäftsstelle der Initiative ist in der Stabsstelle „Kultur & Binnenmarketing“ der Tourismuswerber angesiedelt.

Die Partner

  • Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe
  • Berlin Partner für Wirtschaft und Technologie GmbH
  • DEHOGA Berlin
  • IHK Berlin
  • Handelsverband Berlin-Brandenburg e. V.
  • Berliner Stadtreinigungsbetriebe (BSR)
  • Flughäfen Berlin Brandenburg (FBB)
  • BVG
  • Berlin Tourismus & Kongress GmbH
  • Des weiteren wird Service in the City von zahlreichen Berliner Unternehmen, Verbänden und Interessengemeinschaften, die sich aktiv für eine attraktive Metropole engagieren, unterstützt.

Projekte von "Service in the City"

Bei der Auswahl der Projekte berücksichtigt die Gemeinschaftsinitiative Service in the City auch die Berliner selbst als Zielgruppe und realisiert eine Vielzahl von Projekten.

Unsere Projekte im Überblick:

Unsere Projekte

  • #AugenAufBerlin

    Hingucken - Mitmachen - Umdenken! Gemeinsam für eine noch gepflegtere Stadt!
    Berlins Stadtbild verbessern und mehr Verantwortung im Umgang mit der Umwelt schaffen: Das sind die Ziele von „#AugenAufBerlin“, dem Projekt der Initiative Service in the City für Stadtverschönerung und Bürgerengagement.
    Weitere Infos haben wir hier für Sie zusammengestellt.

  • fr;)endly. Einfach helfen in Berlin

    Hilfe für unterwegs mit der neuen App fr;)endly

    Unterstützung im Berliner Alltagsleben ist mit der App „fr;)endly. Einfach helfen in Berlin“ unkompliziert und schnell möglich. Mit der App können sich Berliner und Berlin-Besucher erstmalig unterwegs gegenseitig in Alltagssituationen Hilfe anbieten – zum Beispiel bei einer Fahrradpanne oder einer leeren Autobatterie. Schnell kann der Kontakt zu hilfsbereiten Personen in der Umgebung hergestellt werden. Einfach Hilfegesuch formulieren und in der App veröffentlichen. Die Kernfunktion wird durch weitere Service-Tools ergänzt (zum Beispiel Veranstaltungstipps, Hotline Service-Center visitBerlin, Streckennetz der BVG).

    Die App „fr;)endly Berlin“ wurde initiiert von der Gemeinschaftsinitiative „Service in the City“ und von einem Berliner Start-up. Ein Hamburger App-Developer hat die Anwendung entwickelt.

  • Das Service in the City-Sprachportal

    Machen Sie sich jetzt fit in sieben Sprachen und frischen Sie Ihre bereits erlernten Sprachkenntnisse auf. Trainieren Sie mit maßgeschneiderten Dialogen und Vokabellisten sieben Sprachen: Englisch, Französisch, Spanisch, Italienisch, Russisch, Polnisch und Chinesisch.

    Mustervorgänge wie Beratung, Begrüßung, Bezahlung und Verabschiedung für die Bereiche Handel, Gastronomie, Tourismus und Verkehr stehen Ihnen zur Verfügung und werden verständlich dargestellt. Außerdem werden Ihnen sechs Grundbegriffe in den genannten Sprachen in Gebärdensprache übersetzt.

    Das Service in the City Sprachportal ist via das-sprachportal.de für alle Interessierte kostenfrei nutzbar und wurde unterstützt von der motus GmbH und der CrossOverPoint Media GmbH, der Flughafen Berlin-Brandenburg GmbH, der Arbeitsgemeinschaft City West sowie dem Partnerhotel e.V.

Rückblick auf abgeschlossene Projekte (Auszug)

  • Berlin. Einfach sauberhaft.

    Mitmachaktion für ein sauberes Berlin
    Berlin ist einfach sauberhaft! findet die Initiative „Service in the City“. Deshalb rief das Gastgeber-Netzwerk erstmalig im Jahr 2014 zusammen mit visitBerlin zum regelmäßigen gemeinschaftlichen Saubermachen auf.
    Weitere Infos haben wir hier
    für Sie zusammengestellt.

  • Die Berlin-Volunteers beim 25. Mauerfall-Jubiläum

    Die Berlin-Volunteers unterwegs

    Mehr als 1 Mio. Besucher, 8.000 schwebende Ballons, 12 km Lichtgrenze: mit Fakten allein ist das Wochenende um den 9. November 2014, an dem Berlin den Fall der Mauer feierte, kaum zu beschreiben. Ganz Berlin war unterwegs, um die Lichtgrenze zu bestaunen, Besucher aus aller Welt feierten mit. Die 11 schönsten Momente des Mauerfall-Jubiläums finden Sie nochmals zusammengefasst unter: Die 11 schönsten Momente

    Die Berlin-Volunteers
    Einen besonderen Beitrag lieferten an diesem Wochenende die Berlin-Volunteers. Diese haben das ganze Wochenende tolle Arbeit geleistet. Sie waren unterwegs an der LICHTGRENZE zwischen Brandenburger Tor und Potsdamer Platz sowie an der East Side Gallery. Ausgestattet mit Stadtplänen, Infobroschüren, dem Programm zum Mauerfall-Wochenende und Gummibärchen, standen Sie fragenden Touristen hilfreich zur Seite. Doch ganz besonders haben sich die rund 40 Berlin-Volunteers ausgezeichnet durch ihre persönlichen Mauergeschichten, die sie mit interessierten Gästen und Berlinern teilten. Ausgewählte Mauergeschichten können nochmals nachgelesen werden über: Persönliche Mauergeschichten

    Film ab! Das Video zu den Berlin-Volunteers
    Während des Mauerfall-Jubiläums wurden die Berlin-Volunteers von einem Film Team begleitet. Video Berlin-Volunteers Mauerfall-Jubiläum

     

1498470822