scroll down to content

Hotel am Steinplatz

The elegant art of improvisation

The Art Nouveau building housing the Hotel am Steinplatz was original designed by August Endell, architect of Berlin’s celebrated Hackesche Höfe courtyards. The hotel has a long and chequered history, from stately town house to grand hotel, officers’ mess, bohemian bar and then back to a hotel again. But for over a century, it has always managed one thing perfectly – the art of inspiration.

In 1913, the building in the Charlottenburg district in the west of Berlin first opened as a luxury hotel, quickly becoming a meeting point for leading Berlin luminaries and travellers such as writer Vladimir Nabokov or movie star Zarah Leander. During the Second World War, the hotel remained open – though improvisation was a must. To ensure a steady trickle of supplies, the roof garden became a tomato patch and the inner courtyard home to a goat, lovingly nicknamed Beate. In her memory, today’s hotel guests find a goat’s cheese praline on arrival in their rooms.

When a curfew was introduced in post-war Berlin, hotelier Heinz Max Lorenz Zellermayer achieved the impossible. In summer 1949, he persuaded the authorities to abolish the time limit on hours for serving alcoholic drinks. Perhaps not entirely coincidentally, Zellermayer was also at the time the newly elected head of the catering trade association in Berlin’s western sectors. As a result of his efforts, Berlin could again party through the night – and since then has never stopped!

When the bohemian cellar bar Volle Pulle opened in 1950, it established Steinplatz as a place where artists and actors could meet and greet. The bar was frequented by such greats as Brigitte Bardot and Luciano Pavarotti, as well as Nobel Laureates Heinrich Böll and Günter Grass.

This gem of an Art Nouveau building on Steinplatz square was reopened as a hotel in 2013 and continues to impress its guests for its dedication and passion for hospitality. No other hotel in the city attracts as many Berliners or has the same neighbourhood feeling. Even in the minibar, guests can find a range of local products all ‘made in Berlin’ – such as artisan chocolate bars from the Berliner Kaffeerösterei to Konditorei Knalle’s renowned popcorn or Our Berlin branded vodka. The multiple award-winning Bar am Steinplatz serves double juniper schnapps instead of gin, while true to the motto of ‘make German sparkling wine great again’ the Restaurant am Steinplatz serves excellent German winegrower ‘Sekt’ rather than champagne. But this time, from conviction rather than any need to improvise!

1576085245
1576160201

scroll down to content

Hotel am Steinplatz

 Elegantes Improvisationsgenie

Von dem Architekten der Hackeschen Höfe August Endell erbaut, hat das Hotel am Steinplatz eine bewegte Vergangenheit. Es war ein herrschaftliches Wohnhaus, Grand Hotel, Offizierskasino, Künstlerbar und dann wieder Hotel. Eins beherrschte es über ein Jahrhundert hinweg aber perfekt: die Kunst der Improvisation.

1913 eröffnete das Haus im Westberliner Bezirk Charlottenburg erstmals als Luxushotel. Es wurde zum Treffpunkt prominenter Berliner und Reisender wie Vladimir Nabokov oder Zarah Leander. Während des Zweiten Weltkrieges konnte der Betrieb nur mit viel Fantasie aufrechterhalten werden. Um die Versorgung zu gewährleisten, befand sich auf dem Dach ein Tomatenbeet und im Innenhof eine Ziege, die liebevoll Beate genannt wurde. Als Reminiszenz finden Hotelgäste noch heute eine Ziegenkäsepraline auf ihrem Zimmer.

Als in Berlin die Sperrstunde verhängt wurde, gelang dem Hotelier Heinz Max Lorenz Zellermayer im Sommer 1949 das Unmögliche: Er kippte die Uhrzeitenbeschränkung für den Ausschank alkoholischer Getränke. Passenderweise war er damals auch der frisch gebackene Obermeister der Gaststätten-Innung für die West-Sektoren. Es konnte also wieder die ganze Nacht durchgefeiert werden. Aufgehört hat die Party in Berlin seitdem nicht mehr.

Mit der Künstlerbar Volle Pulle im Untergeschoss etablierte sich ab 1950 der Steinplatz als Treffpunkt und heimliche Bühne von Künstlern und Schauspielern. Heinrich Böll, Günter Grass, aber auch Brigitte Bardot und Luciano Pavarotti gingen ein und aus.

2013 eröffnete das Jugendstil-Schmuckstück im neuen Glanz und schafft es auch heute noch, seine Gäste zu überraschen. In keinem anderen Haus der Stadt verkehren so viele Berlinerinnen und Berliner und keines fühlt sich so lokal an. Selbst in der Minibar finden Gäste Berliner Produkte wie die Schokoriegel der „Berliner Kaffeerösterei“, Popcorn der „Konditorei Knalle“ oder Wodka von „Our Berlin“. Die mehrfach ausgezeichnete Bar am Steinplatz serviert statt Gin den Doppelwacholder, im Restaurant am Steinplatz wird getreu dem Motto „Macht Sekt wieder groß“ statt Champagner exzellenter deutscher Winzersekt ausgeschenkt. Dieses Mal nicht aus Not, sondern aus Überzeugung!

1576085105
1576160158