scroll down to content

Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome

A spa pool in a former bank vault 

Swim a few leisurely lengths in a former jewel vault, then sip an aperitif in the old strong room before the evening begins ...

That might sound like the ideal of Disney’s Scrooge McDuck – but in real life, Berlin’s Hotel de Rome may be the only place where it is really possible. This Rocco Forte hotel opened in 2006 directly on the historic Bebelplatz in the heart of the city – in a building formerly housing the Dresdner Bank headquarters until 1945.

But how can you combine a relaxed hotel atmosphere and a finance house’s gravitas? For this heritage building from 1889, Italian architect Tommaso Ziffer has forged a unity between the original elements and a contemporary design. Lovingly refurbished, the bank’s former main hall is today a grand ballroom of 276 square metres – still with the original decorations of sandstone balustrades and elegant stucco designs. The spa is housed in the spreading former jewel vault on the basement floor – exactly where fine society ladies placed their treasures for safe keeping over 100 years ago. The diamond vault became a 20-metre-long swimming pool – Berlin’s longest hotel pool. The golden mosaic on the wall recalls the glitter of gold coins, while the dark wall tiles evoke the shape of the original vault’s 400 safe deposit boxes.

But the most secure vault is a 25 square metre room at the entrance to the spa area. Still with its massive floor-length circular door as a feature, this is now a popular venue for exclusive events, private dinners, champagne receptions – and for marriage proposals. The sole source of natural light comes from a hatch used to pass down money sacks in days gone by.

The light conditions are very different on this five-star hotel’s renowned Rooftop Terrace, bordered with the highest-growing lavender bushes in the city. From here, the impressive vista takes in Bebelplatz square and the State Opera House Unter den Linden, Berlin’s Cathedral Church (Dom), the TV Tower and the green roof of St. Hedwig’s Cathedral. A view which really is worth a mint!

1576084175
1576160496

scroll down to content

Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome

Wellness im ehemaligen Banktresor 

Im Juwelenraum ein paar Bahnen ziehen, danach im alten Tresor auf den Abend anstoßen...

Was sich nach einer Dagobert-Duck-Geschichte anhört, geht im wahren Leben wohl nur im Berliner Hotel de Rome. Das Rocco Forte Hotel eröffnete im Jahr 2006 am historischen Bebelplatz in Berlin Mitte – in einem Gebäude, das bis 1945 der Dresdner Bank als Hauptsitz diente.

Die entspannte Atmosphäre eines Hotels und der Adrenalinkick einer Bank – wie kann das zusammenpassen? Der italienische Architekt Tommaso Ziffer schaffte für das denkmalgeschützte Gebäude von 1889 einen Bogen aus ursprünglichen Elementen und zeitgenössischem Design. Und so ist die ehemalige Schalterhalle der Bank heute der 276 Quadratmeter große Ballsaal – mit Original-Ausstattung von Sandsteinbrüstungen und Deckenstuck. Das Spa im Untergeschoss ist in den ehemaligen Juwelenräumlichkeiten untergebracht, genau dort, wo die feinen Damen der Gesellschaft früher ihre Schätze verwahrten. Der Diamantensafe wurde zum Pool, mit 20 Metern der längste Hotelpool der Hauptstadt. Das goldene Wandmosaik erinnert noch heute an das Funkeln der Münzen und die dunklen Fliesen an den Wänden ahmen die Form der 400 Schließfächer nach. 

Der am besten gehütete Raum ist allerdings der 25 Quadratmeter große Tresor gleich am Eingang des Spas. Mit seiner bodenlangen schweren Metalltür wird er gerne für exklusive Behandlungen, private Dinner, Champagnerempfänge oder auch für Heiratsanträge gebucht. Die einzige Lichtquelle ist eine Fensterluke, die früher als Durchreiche für die Geldsäcke diente.

Deutlich bessere Lichtverhältnisse herrschen auf der legendären Dachterrasse mit dem höchstgelegenen Lavendelfeld der Stadt, der Rooftop Bar des Fünf-Sterne Hotels. Der Blick reicht über den Bebelplatz, die Staatsoper Unter den Linden, den Berliner Dom, den Fernsehturm, und auch das grüne Dach der St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale ist zum Greifen nah. Und diese Aussicht ist wirklich Gold wert.

1576082670
1576160334