scroll down to content

SO/Berlin Das Stue

Between embassies and kangaroos 

In the heart of a traditional embassy district directly next to the Berlin Zoo, luxury boutique hotel SO/Berlin Das Stue offers what must be one of the city’s most varied panoramas – Berlin’s western and eastern skyline, the spreading green Tiergarten park, and animals in the zoo’s enclosures. Dating from the late 1930s, this listed building was originally home to the Royal Danish Embassy (Das Stue means living room in Danish). It was designed by architect Johann Emil Schaudt, whose portfolio also included Germany’s most renowned department store, the KaDeWe. Located on the magnificent Kurfürstendamm boulevard, the KaDeWe is just ten minutes’ walk from the hotel. Normally, the main entrance to the Berlin Zoo would be 15 minutes’ walk away – if Das Stue did not have one very special feature unique in Europe. Thanks to a private entrance from the garden terrace, hotel guests can enjoy direct access to the Zoo – guaranteed without queues.

Once inside the Zoo grounds, you can find the female red giant kangaroo Stuy, born in March 2016 and sponsored by the hotel. If you prefer, you can also relax in the hotel while you view many of the Zoo’s animals. A large bar window allows guests to watch grazing ostriches outside, while many of the hotel’s 78 rooms offer an unhindered view of enclosures with gnus, alpacas and antelopes.

Even the contemporary art works inside are a homage to the hotel’s animal neighbours. French artist Quentin Garel’s life-size crocodile head sculpture welcomes guests in the grand entrance hall. In the corridors and seating areas, you can find leather animals in the shape of rhinos and hippos, while the lobby is home to two meshwork giant gorillas and a giraffe by Milan artist Benedetta Mori. The only question is – who is watching whom?

1576086323
1576161883

scroll down to content

SO/Berlin Das Stue

Zwischen Kängurus und Botschaftern

Mitten im Botschaftsviertel in direkter Nachbarschaft zum Berliner Zoo gelegen, bietet das Luxus Boutique-Hotel SO/Berlin Das Stue den wohl abwechslungsreichsten Blick der Stadt: auf das weite Grün des Tiergartens, in die tierische Welt des Zoos und über Berlins westliche und östliche Skyline. Das denkmalgeschützte Gebäude der ehemaligen Königlich Dänischen Gesandtschaft ("Das Stue" ist dänisch für Wohnzimmer) wurde Ende der 30er Jahre von dem KaDeWe-Architekten Johann Emil Schaudt erbaut. Und auch das KaDeWe selbst, Deutschlands berühmtestes Kaufhaus auf dem Prachtboulevard Kurfürstendamm, ist in nur zehn Minuten fußläufig zu erreichen. Der Eingang zu den Hauptstadt-Tieren liegt in 15 Minuten Lauf nähe – eigentlich. Denn einmalig in Europa verfügt das Hotel über einen privaten Zugang zum Zoologischen Garten, direkt von der Terrasse aus und ohne jegliche Schlangen.

Da wartet auch schon das Hotel-Patenkind Stuy, das im März 2016 geborene Rote Riesenkänguru. Die artenreiche Tierwelt des Berliner Zoos lässt sich aber auch ganz lässig aus dem Inneren des ehemaligen Botschaftsgebäudes erspähen. Durch ein großes Fenster in der Bar können Gäste die Strauße beim Grasen beobachten, und viele der 78 Zimmer bieten einen freien Blick in die Gehege von Gnus, Alpakas und Antilopen.

Selbst die zeitgenössischen Kunstwerke sind eine Hommage an die tierischen Nachbarn: Am Eingang begrüßt eine lebensgroße Krokodilskulptur vom Pariser Künstler Quentin Garel die Gäste, in den Gängen stehen aus Leder gefertigte Flusspferde und Nashörner und in der Lobby wachen zwei riesige Gorillas und eine Giraffe der Mailänder Künstlerin Benedetta Mori über das Geschehen. Wer beobachtet hier wen?

1576086192
1576161856