China

scroll down to content

China

Health Excellence: Presenting Berlin as a Centre of Medical Excellence in Beijing and Shanghai.

In global terms, the Chinese travel market is the key source market of the future, and it continues to expand at a rapid pace. Thanks to many years of market experience in China, visitBerlin is very well positioned there. In 2016, the share of overnight stays for visitors from China grew by 9.1% 

In May, together with the German National Tourist Board (GNTB) office in Beijing, we invited key travel industry decision-makers to day events showcasing health tourism and sport in Berlin. For these events, we took the special setting of leading golf clubs in Beijing and Shanghai, offering our guests a varied programme of golfing, presentations on Berlin, lunch and opportunities to network. The topics of health tourism and sport were also successfully linked with content from BERLIN 365/24 and Going Local. The guests at the events all received an extensive Berlin information pack in Chinese, including the Berlin Medical Tourism Guide.

At the China International Medical Tourism Fair (CMTF), presently the largest medical tourism fair in China, we joined forces with the Vivantes Hospital Group to represent the German capital as a medical tourism destination. In addition to promoting Berlin, we could network and gain important insights into the market. In addition to our presence at the fair, we organised a Berlin Medical Travel Lunch specifically for B2B contacts.

In June, in cooperation with DB Bahn, we held training workshops in Beijing, Shanghai and Shenzen, presenting the Travelsky booking tool to travel agencies and their staff. 

Our marketing activities for 2016 ended with Berlin Christmas events in luxury hotels in Hangzhou and Xiamen. These infotainment events for the travel industry focused on the secondary cities that are growing in importance for Chinese outbound tourism. The event was well received with guests enthusiastic about a programme including Berlin presentations, the Berlin Runaraound, an interactive game with prizes, a raffle and a buffet dinner with live music. An accompanying press event showcased the BERLIN 365/24 campaign for 20 journalists. We were also invited to a reception at the German Consulate to mark German Unity Day, when the spotlight was very much on Berlin.

A press trip that we organised to Berlin specifically on medical tourism generated articles on the city in five major Chinese newspapers, including the People’s Daily, Xinhua News and Zhongxin News.

visitBerlin is also reacting to the growing importance of social media channels such as Wechat and Weibo in changing travel behaviour, from locating information and planning trips to exchanging travel experience and making the final bookings. In 2016, we commissioned a Shanghai agency to implement an extensive package of social media activities, generating around 67,000 followers and 8.3 million clicks on posts about Berlin.

Promoting Meetings and Congresses in Berlin

Increased marketing activities in the Chinese market in 2016

visitBerlin also took the opportunity offered by the China Incentive Travel & Conventions (IT & CM) fair, held from 6–8 April in Shanghai, to effectively place Berlin in the Chinese travel trade press, with interviews with TTG China, M&C China and Meetings China generating extensive press coverage. After visiting the fair, the focus was on sales calls organised jointly with the Berlin partner TAO Incoming GmbH. 

From 20–23 September, as part of a cooperation with the GCB German Convention Bureau and the Representative Office, a roadshow was held in Beijing and Shanghai presenting Berlin along with other destinations in Germany. Since personal contacts to customers also play a major role in the Chinese markets, the roadshows provided an excellent opportunity to expand and intensify such contacts. Our comprehensive approach to customer relations in the Chinese market in 2016 was rounded off with active public relations via WeChat, regular newsletters and familiarisation trips, as well as a series of sales calls by our Beijing Representative Office.

1502197667
1533648504

China

scroll down to content

China

Health Excellence: Medizinhauptstadt Berlin stellte sich in Beijing und Shanghai vor.

Der chinesische Reisemarkt ist weltweit der bedeutendste Quellmarkt der Zukunft und entwickelt sich weiterhin in rasantem Tempo. visitBerlin ist durch die langjährigen Markterfahrungen in China sehr gut aufgestellt. Die Übernachtungszahlen aus China stiegen 2016 um 9,1 Prozent.

Gesundheitstourismus und Sport in Berlin, das waren die großen Themen der Tagesveranstaltungen, zu denen wir im Mai in Zusammenarbeit mit der DZT Beijing die wichtigsten Entscheider der Reiseindustrie einluden. Dabei schufen wir einen ganz besonderen Rahmen: Die Events fanden in Beijing und in Shanghai auf Top-Golfanlagen statt und boten ein facettenreiches Programm an Golfspielen für die Gäste, Berlin-Präsentationen, Lunch und Networking. Die Themen Gesundheitstourismus und Sport wurden gelungen mit den Inhalten BERLIN 365/24 und Going Local verknüpft. Alle Gäste bekamen umfangreiches Berlin-Informationsmaterial, auch in chinesischer Sprachfassung, unter anderem den Berlin Medical Tourism Guide.

Auf der CMTF (China International Medical Tourism Fair), der aktuell größten Medizintourismusmesse Chinas, vertraten wir gemeinsam mit Vivantes die deutsche Hauptstadt als Medizin-Reiseziel und konnten wichtige Kontakte knüpfen. Neben der Messe organisierten wir für Business-Kontakte den Berlin Medical Travel Lunch.

Im Juni führten wir für Reisebüroagenten in Kooperation mit DB Bahn in Beijing, Shanghai und Shenzen Produktschulungen zum Buchungstool Travelsky durch.

Berlin-Christmas-Events in Luxushotels in Hangzhou und Xiamen rundeten die Marketingaktivitäten im Dezember 2016 ab: Für die Reiseindustrie organisierten wir Infotainment-Veranstaltungen mit Fokus auf Secondary Cities mit wachsender Bedeutung für den chinesischen Outbound-Tourismus. Berlin-Präsentationen, der Berlin-Runaround, ein interaktives Gewinnspiel, Verlosungen und ein Dinner-Buffet mit Live Musik begeisterten die Gäste. Begleitend fand ein Presse-Event mit 20 Journalisten zum Thema BERLIN 365/24 statt. Auch beim Empfang des Deutschen Generalkonsulats zum Tag der Deutschen Einheit, an dem wir teilnahmen, bildete Berlin den thematischen Schwerpunkt.

Eine von uns betreute Pressereise in Berlin zum Thema Medizintourismus generierte Berlin-Artikel in fünf großen Zeitungen, darunter People’s Daily, Xinhua News und Zhongxin News.

Die Kommunikation über Social Media-Kanäle wie Wechat und Weibo werden zunehmend wichtiger bei Informationssuche, Reiseplanung, beim Austausch von Reiseerfahrungen und bei der konkreten Reisebuchung. visitBerlin reagierte auf diese Entwicklung. Eine von uns beauftragte Agentur in Shanghai setzte 2016 ein umfangreiches Social Media-Maßnahmenpaket um, durch welches wir rund 67.000 Follower gewinnen konnten und 8,3 Millionen Klicks auf die Berlin-Posts bekamen.

Kongressmarketing

Verstärktes Marketing im chinesischen Markt 2016

Die Messe IT & CM (China Incentive Travel & Conventions), die vom 6.-8. April in Shanghai stattfand, wurde von uns auch dazu genutzt, um Berlin gezielt in der chinesischen Fachpresse zu platzieren: Interviews mit TTG China, M&C China und Meetings China generierten eine ausführliche Berichterstattung. Nach dem Besuch der Messe schlossen sich in diesem Jahr Sales Calls an. Diese wurden gemeinsam mit dem Berliner Partner TAO Incoming GmbH organisiert.

Vom 20.-23 September wurde im Rahmen einer Kooperation mit dem GCB German Convention Bureau und der Repräsentanz eine Roadshow in Beijing und Shanghai durchgeführt, auf der neben weiteren Destinationen aus Deutschland die deutsche Hauptstadt vorgestellt wurde. Auch im chinesischen Markt ist der persönliche Kontakt zu den Kunden von großer Bedeutung, so dass die Roadshow eine hervorragende Möglichkeit für intensive Kontaktpflege bot. Engagierte Pressearbeit über WeChat, regelmäßige Newsletter sowie Fam Trips und Sales Calls, durchgeführt von unserer Repräsentanz in Beijing, rundeten das umfangreiche Konzept zur Kundenansprache 2016 im chinesischen Markt ab.

1492785482
1533648504