scroll down to content

Health Excellence 2016

A new dynamism in health tourism

For some years now, visitBerlin has promoted a medical facility network, cooperated with major medical events, and presented Berlin’s medical tourism services in selected markets. In 2016, medical tourism in Berlin gained a new dynamic as new marketing activities were initiated and the raft of existing partnerships and cooperations further expanded. These measures came in the wake of visitBerlin’s cooperation with the Berlin Partner for Business and Technology (Berlin Partner für Wirtschaft und Technologie GmbH) and were funded by the Senate Department for Economic Affairs, Energy and Public Enterprises.

Webpage

One key activity in 2016 was designing the berlin-health-excellence.com website, a platform presenting Berlin’s medical expertise and excellence as well as its appeal as a tourism destination. At the same time, the website’s innovative features make it much easier for potential patients and decision-makers to organise medical treatment for a stay in the city. 
After the tender procedure for website design, programming, copy-editing and project management was completed, the project was awarded to CB.e (web design) and we care communications (copy-editing). At a kick-off workshop with visitBerlin, both agencies and the Berlin Partner for Business and Technology, the expectations and target group focus were discussed, and website structure and content drafted. By the end of 2016, the website’s basic design was agreed on, content developed, the first programming milestones reached, and partners acquired for the website presence. This new website has now been online since spring 2017 and is available in five languages: English, German, Arabic, Russian and Chinese.
 

Expanding and cultivating networks

“Berlin – Germany’s medical capital” – kick-off event on 3 June 2016

At a kick-off event in the Hotel Palace Berlin on 3 June 2016 attended by visitBerlin CEO Burkhard Kieker and Berlin Partner CEO Dr. Stefan Franzke, the “Berlin – Centre of Medical Excellence” project was officially launched and potential partners presented. The event was attended by around 80 participants. They showed considerable interest in the project, resulting in an intensive exchange of views in the subsequent networking session.

“Berlin – Germany’s medical capital” – partner meeting on 14 July 2016

A partner meeting was arranged as a follow-up event, serving to provide interested medical facilities and travel trade companies with more information, and a chance to network with each other. At the meeting, relevant findings from a previous partner survey were presented, and partners encouraged to lend their support to the project and continue their cooperation.

 Newsletter: Medical Tourism News

Launched in 2016, Medical Tourism News keeps Berlin partners up to date on the Health Excellence initiative, and regularly presents past and upcoming projects and the latest news.

visitBerlin hospitals and clinics network

In 2016, the visitBerlin hospitals and clinics network, set up some time before, met twice. The network meetings serve as a forum for a mutual exchange of views between hospital experts, encouraging a broad discussion and joint planning of activities. On both these occasions, in addition to activities related to particular issues, the “Berlin – Centre of Medical Excellence” project was presented in more detail in various personal discussions to the actors and potential partners. 
 

Roadshows, fairs and events

ITB Berlin, 9-13 March 2016

ITB Berlin is the world’s leading travel trade show. It not only attracts over 180 exhibitors, but is attended by 120,000 travel industry professionals from around the world. To present the topic of medical tourism, visitBerlin organised a co-exhibitor stand together with the Vivantes Hospital Group, Paul Gerhardt Diakonie (PDG), Unfallkrankenhaus Berlin (ukb) and the Ernst von Bergmann Potsdam Clinic.

VIP Golf Events Beijing and Shanghai (China), 24/25 May 2016

Together with the German National Tourist Board (GNTB) office in China, day events were designed to present “Health Tourism and Sport in Berlin” at leading golf clubs in Beijing and Shanghai. At each of these events, the participants included selected CEOs and members of executive management from leading tour operators. The events focused on health and medical tourism, highlighting Berlin as a location of medical excellence and a top destination for treating patients from abroad. The guests at the events all received an extensive Berlin information pack including the Berlin Medical Tourism Guide.

GNTB Medical Workshop Moscow (Russia), 8 September 2016

visitBerlin also took part in a Medical Workshop in Moscow on 8 September 2016 hosted by the German National Tourist Board (GNTB). The workshop offered a chance for Russian travel industry representatives, in particular Russian promoters of health tourism and patient service agencies, to learn about medical care and tourism providers in Germany. The day’s agenda not only included the workshop and a networking lunch, but also a lecture by a representative of the German Embassy in Moscow on the process of obtaining visas for medical treatment. In press meetings with Russian media representatives, Berlin’s role in the German medical landscape was highlighted as a location for medical excellence and a top destination for international patients.

LTM Luxury Travel Mart Almaty (Kazakhstan), 30 September 2016

The Luxury Travel Mart, the leading B2B event in the luxury travel sector in Russia and neighbouring countries, is held three times a year. The LTM fair in Almaty, Kazakhstan, attracted around 100 international travel trade exhibitors. In 2016, the main focus of our presentation at this fair was on Berlin as Germany’s ‘medical capital’. As was evident from the discussions with participants at the fair, medical tourism was a topic of considerable interest, especially since medical services in Germany generally enjoy a good reputation. Providing Berlin can further develop its medical services portfolio and promote a sustained market presence highlighting the city’s medical expertise, it has good chances of positioning itself on a par with such established medical centres as Freiburg.

CMTF China International Medical Tourism Fair, 18-20 November 2016

The China International Medical Tourism Fair (CMTF) is presently the largest medical tourism fair in China. The venue for the fair rotates on an annual basis between the three cities of Beijing, Shanghai and Guangzhou. The CMTF Beijing was held from 18–20 November 2016 with around 100 international exhibitors. A forum and conference was held at the same time as a parallel event. Together with the Vivantes Hospital Group, visitBerlin represented the German capital city as a centre of medical excellence and a medical tourism destination. During the fair, visitBerlin could network and gain important insights into the market. In addition to its presence at the fair, visitBerlin organised a Berlin Medical Travel Lunch for B2B contacts to highlight the city’s qualities as a medical location and travel destination. Although most people in China presently prefer to travel within Asia for medical treatment, there is nonetheless significant potential for European health tourism. 

Accompanying activities

Pressegespräch Health Excellence
© visitBerlin, Foto: Dirk Mathesius

Publications

The Berlin Medical Tourism Guide, first published in English in 2015 by visitBerlin in cooperation with the HealthCapital cluster, provides international guests with information on Berlin’s medical service portfolio as well as recommendations for hotels and tips on leisure activities. Between June and October 2016, the Berlin Medical Tourism Guide was translated into three other languages – Russian, Arabic and Chinese – and is now available in these languages as well, both in print as well as digitally. With information available on Berlin’s medical facilities and tourism services in these languages, the B2B and B2C contacts and target groups in these markets can be addressed specifically.

FAM trips

Familiarisation trips for medical tourism in Berlin are designed for the employees of tour and coach tour operators as well as other travel industry multipliers already marketing the city as a destination for health and medical tourism or planning to do so.
In 2016, a total of three FAM trips were organised for medical tourism, two for Saudi Arabia and one for the CIS countries. In each case, depending on the focus, the guests also visited selected Berlin hospitals and clinics, hotels and other tourist partners.

Press trips

In 2016, visitBerlin arranged press trips for media representatives in international print and online media who were planning to include reports on Berlin and medical tourism in their work or who had been invited to do so. visitBerlin looked after the international journalists and bloggers during their stay in Berlin, supporting them with the tour’s organisation, research materials, and networking opportunities with appropriate partners.
In 2016, two FAM trips for medical tourism were organised for media representatives from the Arab Gulf states, and one event was held with Chinese correspondents in Berlin.

Media cooperation: TV project with MBC

In November 2016, as part of the Health Excellence initiative, visitBerlin provided assistance for an Arabic TV documentary on alternative treatments for cancer. The documentary, which took authentic cases to present alternative and successful cancer therapies, included Berlin as an example of a location for immune therapy. Here, the Vivantes Hospital Group participated as a partner. The 30-minute documentary is being offered to various TV broadcasters in Arab-speaking countries as well as the Dubai Film Festival, and an abridged version has been shown by the successful Arabic MBC broadcaster. 

Online activities in the Arab states

In 2016, in the run up to the launch of the Arabic version of the berlin-health-excellence.de website, a campaign was prepared through the social media channels of Almaniah.com. On Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, the campaign set out to highlight the appeal of Berlin’s tourist attractions and its strengths as a medical destination. 

 

1501854480
1562315784

scroll down to content

Health Excellence 2016

Neue Dynamik im Gesundheitstourismus

Seit mehreren Jahren pflegt visitBerlin ein Netzwerk mit medizinischen Einrichtungen, kooperiert mit medizinischen Großveranstaltungen und stellt die medizintouristischen Angebote der Hauptstadt in ausgewählten Märkten vor. 2016 gewann das Thema erneut an Dynamik: In Kooperation mit Berlin Partner für Wirtschaft und Technologie und gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Energie und Betriebe wurden neue  Marketing-Maßnahmen initiiert sowie unsere Partnerschaften und Kooperationen ausgebaut.

Webseite

Eine zentrale Maßnahme war 2016 die Erstellung der Webseite berlin-health-excellence.de, die die medizinische Kompetenz und touristische Attraktivität der Hauptstadt widerspiegelt. Gleichzeitig erleichtert sie es potenziellen Patienten bzw. Entscheidungsträgern durch innovative Features schnell und einfach einen medizinischen Aufenthalt in Berlin zu planen.

Nach Ausschreibung wurde der Zuschlag für Webdesign und -programmierung sowie Webredaktion und Projektmanagement an die Agenturen CB.e (Webdesign) und we care communications (Webredaktion) vergeben. In einem Kick-Off-Workshop wurden gemeinsam mit beiden Agenturen und mit Berlin Partner Erwartungshaltung, Zielgruppenfokussierung, Inhalte und Struktur der Webseite erarbeitet. Bis Jahresende wurde das Grund-Design der Webseite festgelegt, Inhalte wurden erstellt, ein Teil der Programmierung geleistet und Partner für die Darstellung gewonnen. Die neue Webseite ist im Frühjahr 2017 in den Sprachversionen deutsch, englisch, arabisch und russisch online gegangen.

Netzwerkausbau und -pflege

Auftaktveranstaltung „Health Excellence – Medizinhauptstadt Berlin“ am 3. Juni 2016

Auf einer Kick-Off-Veranstaltung am 3. Juni 2016 im Hotel Palace Berlin wurde unter Anwesenheit des Geschäftsführers von visitBerlin, Burkhard Kieker, und des Geschäftsführers von Berlin Partner, Dr. Stefan Franzke, der offizielle Start des Projektes „Health Excellence – Medizinhauptstadt Berlin“ verkündet und potenziellen Partnern vorgestellt. Die Resonanz und das Interesse der rund 80 Teilnehmer waren sehr groß. Im anschließenden Networking entwickelte sich ein intensiver Austausch.

Partnertreffen „Health Excellence – Medizinhauptstadt Berlin“ am 14. Juli 2016

Als Folgeveranstaltung wurde ein Partnertreffen organisiert, das nach dem Auftakt dazu diente, den interessierten Unternehmen nähere Informationen sowie die Gelegenheit zum Netzwerken untereinander zu geben. Dabei  wurden relevante Ergebnisse einer vorangegangenen Partner-Umfrage vorgestellt und um das Engagement der Partner und für die weitere Zusammenarbeit geworben.

Newsletter „Medical Tourism News“

Mit den Medical Tourism News werden Berliner Partner seit 2016 über die Initiative Health Excellence auf dem Laufenden gehalten und regelmäßig über anstehende und vergangene Projekte sowie aktuelle Neuigkeiten informiert.

visitBerlin Klinik-Netzwerktreffen

Das bereits etablierte visitBerlin Klinik-Netzwerk diente auch im Jahr 2016 dem vertrauensvollen Austausch der Klinikexperten untereinander und der gemeinsamen Erörterung und Planung von Aktivitäten. 2016 fanden zwei Treffen statt. Neben punktuellen Maßnahmen wurde das Projekt in diversen Einzelgesprächen den Akteuren und potenziellen Projektpartnern detaillierter vorgestellt.

Roadshows, Messen und Events

  • ITB Berlin, 9.-13. März 2016

    Die ITB Berlin ist die Weltleitmesse im Tourismus, mit mehr als 180 Ausstellern und 120.000 internationalen Fachbesuchern. visitBerlin organisierte für die Präsentation des Themas Gesundheitstourismus einen Mitaussteller-Counter in Kooperation mit den Kliniken Vivantes, Paul-Gerhard-Diakonie, Unfallkrankenhaus Berlin und Klinikum Ernst von Bergmann Potsdam.

  • VIP Golf Events Beijing und Shanghai (China), 24./25. Mai 2016

    In Zusammenarbeit mit der DZT China wurden Tagesveranstaltungen zum Thema „Gesundheitstourismus und Sport in Berlin“ in Top Golf-Anlagen von Beijing und Shanghai konzipiert. Teilnehmer waren jeweils ausgewählte Geschäftsführer, beziehungsweise das Top-Management von führenden Reiseveranstaltern. Der Fokus lag auf dem Gesundheitstourismus und der Herausstellung Berlins als Standort der Spitzenmedizin und als Top-Destination für die Behandlung ausländischer Patienten. Alle Gäste erhielten umfangreiches Berlin-Informationsmaterial, unter anderem den Berlin Medical Tourism Guide.

  • DZT Medizinworkshop Moskau (Russland), 8. September 2016

    visitBerlin nahm ebenfalls an einem von der DZT (Deutsche Zentrale für Tourismus) ausgerichteten Medizinworkshop am 8. September 2016 in Moskau teil. Bei dem Workshop präsentierten sich Anbieter aus Medizin und Tourismus den russischen Vertretern der Reiseindustrie, insbesondere russischen Veranstaltern mit Schwerpunkt Gesundheitsreisen sowie Patienten-Serviceagenturen. Neben dem Workshop und einem Networking Lunch wurde auch ein Vortrag der Deutschen Botschaft in Moskau über das Handling von Medizin-Visa angeboten. In Pressegesprächen mit russischen Medienvertretern wurde die deutsche Hauptstadt als Standort der Spitzenmedizin und Top-Destination für internationale Patienten herausgestellt.

  • LTM Luxury Travel Mart Almaty (Kasachstan), 30. September 2016

    Die Luxury Travel Mart-Reihe findet dreimal jährlich statt und ist das erfolgreichste B2B Event im Luxusreisesegment in Russland und den angrenzenden Ländern. Beim LTM in Almaty waren rund 100 internationale Aussteller aus der Reiseindustrie vertreten. Schwerpunkt unserer Präsentation dort war in diesem Jahr die „Medizinhauptstadt Berlin“. Das Thema Medizintourismus stieß bei den Gesprächen auf großes Interesse. Die Medizin in Deutschland genießt generell einen guten Ruf. Berlin hat hier gute Chancen, sich neben etablierten Zentren wie Freiburg zu positionieren. Wichtige Voraussetzungen sind eine langfristige Marktpräsenz mit der Herausstellung der Berliner Kompetenzen und die weitere Qualifizierung des Angebots.

  • CMTF China International Medical Tourism Fair, 18.-20. November 2016

    Die China International Medical Tourism Fair (CMTF) ist die aktuell größte Medizintourismusmesse Chinas und findet wechselnd an drei Standorten statt: Beijing, Shanghai und Guangzhou. Die CMTF Beijing fand vom 18.-20. November 2016 mit rund 100 internationalen Ausstellern statt. Parallel zur Messe gab es ein Forum und eine Konferenz. Gemeinsam mit Vivantes vertrat visitBerlin die deutsche Hauptstadt als Medizindestination und konnte wichtige Marktinformationen sammeln sowie Kontakte knüpfen. Neben der Messe organisierte visitBerlin den „Berlin Medical Travel Lunch“ für B2B-Kontakte, um Berlin als Medizinstandort und Reisedestination herauszustellen. Der Großteil der Chinesen reist für medizinische Behandlungen bisher innerasiatisch, jedoch ist für europäische Gesundheitsreisen deutliches Potenzial zu erkennen.

Begleitende Aktivitäten

Pressegespräch Health Excellence
© visitBerlin, Foto: Dirk Mathesius

Publikationen

Der Berlin Medical Tourism Guide, der von visitBerlin in Kooperation mit HealthCapital im Jahr 2015 erstmals in englischer Sprache herausgegeben wurde, bietet ausländischen Gästen Informationen über das medizinische Angebot der Hauptstadt sowie Hotelempfehlungen und Tipps zur Freizeitgestaltung. Zwischen Juni und Oktober 2016 wurde der Berlin Medical Tourism Guide in weitere Sprachen - russisch, arabisch und chinesisch - übersetzt und liegt damit nun viersprachig sowohl als Printexemplar als auch in digitaler Form vor. Mit der Verfügbarkeit der Informationen über das klinische und touristische Angebot Berlins in der jeweiligen Landessprache ist eine gezielte und zielgruppengerechte Ansprache der B2B und B2C-Kontakte aus den relevanten Märkten möglich.

Studienreisen (Fam Trips)

Studienreisen richten sich an Mitarbeiter von Reise- und Busreiseveranstaltern – hier mit Gesundheits- bzw. Medizinschwerpunkt – sowie an weitere Multiplikatoren der Reiseindustrie, die Berlin als Destination bereits vermarkten oder anstreben, die Stadt in ihr Programm aufzunehmen.

Im Jahr 2016 wurden drei Fam Trips zum Thema Medizintourismus realisiert, davon zwei aus Saudi Arabien und ein weiterer aus den GUS-Staaten. Dabei erfolgte je nach Schwerpunkt die Einbindung von Berliner Kliniken, Hotels und weiteren touristischen Partnern.

Pressereisen

visitBerlin richtete sich 2016 an Medienvertreter internationaler Print- und Online-Medien, die Berlin und das Thema Gesundheitstourismus in ihre Berichterstattung bzw. ihr Medium aufnehmen wollten oder dazu eingeladen werden sollen. visitBerlin betreute dabei die internationalen Journalisten und Blogger vor Ort in Berlin und unterstützte mit der Zulieferung von Recherchematerial sowie bei der Organisation und Vernetzung mit relevanten Partnern.

2016 wurden zwei Pressereisen zum Thema Medizintourismus aus den arabischen Golfstaaten sowie eine Veranstaltung mit chinesischen Korrespondenten in Berlin organisiert.

Medienkooperation: TV-Projekt mit MBC

Im Rahmen der Health Excellence Initiative wurde im November 2016 ein arabisches TV-Projekt unterstützt, bei dem es um eine Dokumentation zum Thema alternative Krebsbehandlungen geht. Das Format zielt darauf ab, mittels realer Dokumentationen alternative und erfolgreiche Krebstherapien vorzustellen. Dabei wurde Berlin als beispielhafter Standort für die Immuntherapie dargestellt. Als Partner konnte Vivantes gewonnen werden. Die insgesamt 30-minütige Dokumentation wird verschiedenen arabischen TV-Sendern und dem Dubai Film Festival angeboten und als Zusammenfassung auf dem erfolgreichen arabischen Sender MBC laufen.

Online-Aktivitäten in den arabische Staaten

Vorbereitend zum Launch der arabischsprachigen Website berlin-health-excellence.de wurde im Jahr 2016 über die Social Media Kanäle von Almaniah.com eine Kampagne vorbereitet. Zielsetzung ist, die touristischen Vorzüge Berlins und die Besonderheiten Berlins als Medizindestination über facebook, twitter und instagram zu vermitteln.

1499340065